Northwestern University Feinberg School of Medicine

Department of Medicine

Research Faculty

Kevin J. O’Leary, MD, MS, is Chief of the Division of Hospital Medicine, Associate Chair for Quality in the Department of Medicine, and Key Medical Director for the general medicine services at Northwestern Memorial Hospital. He also serves as the Capstone Co-director for the Northwestern University Master’s degree program in Healthcare Quality and Patient Safety. He is the founding Director of the Northwestern Medicine Academy for Quality and Safety Improvement (NM AQSI), a professional development program to train leaders in quality improvement. In 2015, AQSI received the Leape Ahead Award from the American Association for Physician Leadership.

Kevin is the author of peer reviewed publications related to hospital medicine, medical education, healthcare quality, and patient safety. His primary research interest is interprofessional collaboration and teamwork. He is an Associate Editor for the Joint Commission Journal on Quality and Patient Safety. He also serves as principal investigator of the Redesigning Systems to Improve Quality for Hospitalized Patients project, a study funded through the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ) which provides mentored implementation to help sites redesign clinical microsystems to improve patient outcomes.

Jeffrey H. Barsuk, MD, MS is Associate Program Director in the internal medicine residency program. Dr. Barsuk’s research focuses on optimizing physicians’ procedure performance using simulation technology. These efforts have been based on the mastery learning theoretical framework, and his research team uses rigorous, validated standards for physician training. His team has published over 50 articles on this topic and demonstrated how this approach to procedure training improves patient care and outcomes. Dr. Barsuk currently serves as the Director of Simulation and Patient Safety at Feinberg School of Medicine.

Additionally, Dr. Barsuk is recognized nationally as a medical educator. He has been given national awards for medical education from the Society of Hospital Medicine, Association of American Medical Colleges, and the Society for Simulation in Healthcare. He was also named a top ten hospitalist in 2011 by the American College of Physicians. Dr. Barsuk served on the Society of Hospital Medicine’s education committee and has written curricula for procedure training for physicians nationally. He has lectured internationally on the use of simulation-based medical education to improve patient safety.

Eytan Szmuilowicz, MD is the Principal Investigator of the PACT program. He practices palliative care at Northwestern Memorial Hospital and is Director of the Section of Palliative Medicine. After completing Palliative Medicine fellowship training at Massachusetts General Hospital, and prior to moving to Chicago with his family in 2008, he practiced both palliative and primary care at Brigham and Women's Hospital and Dana-Farber Cancer Institute in Boston, MA. He has developed and studied palliative care curricula for hospitalists, residents, nurses, and medical students, with particular focus on teaching challenging patient-clinician communication skills. He has received numerous teaching awards and in 2010 received a Hastings Center Cunniff-Dixon Physician Award for excellence in end-of-life care.