Northwestern University Feinberg School of Medicine

Department of Medicine

Physician Scientist Training Program

The Department of Medicine’s Physician-Scientist Training Program at the Feinberg School of Medicine focuses on the transition period from graduation with an MD or combined MD/PhD degree to appointment to a full-time academic position as a physician-scientist. Beyond training in the Categorical Internal Medicine Training Program at the McGaw Medical Center of Northwestern University and the Northwestern University Feinberg School of Medicine, trainees accepted into the program will be guaranteed a position in the fellowship program of any of the eleven clinical divisions in the Department of Medicine and a minimum of $75,000 of support during clinical and research training. The program is co-directed by Dr. Ben Singer and chair of medicine, Dr. Douglas Vaughan.

Learn more about the program via the sections below.

Contact Us

For more information, or to submit an application, contact the PSTP Co-Director, Dr. Benjamin Singer, or Residency Program Director, Dr. Aashish Didwania


Benjamin D. Singer, MD
Assistant Professor of Medicine
Division of Pulmonary and Critical Care Medicine
PSTP Co-Director
Department of Medicine
Northwestern University Feinberg School of Medicine
240 East Huron Street
McGaw Pavilion, Suite M-300
Chicago, Illinois 60611
Phone 312-503-4494
Fax 312-503-0411


Douglas E. Vaughan, MD
Irving S. Cutter Professor of Medicine
Chairman, Department of Medicine
Northwestern University Feinberg School of Medicine
Physician in Chief, Northwestern Memorial Hospital
251 East Huron Street
Galter Pavilion, Suite 3-150
Chicago, IL 60611-2908
Phone 312-926-9436
Fax 312-926-7260
Executive Assistant: Judy Poremba